The Kansas City Drift Association

Drifting the Midwest
It is currently Thu Jun 29, 2017 9:16 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Ftp for kcd
Poll ended at Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:12 am
Yes 100%  100%  [ 8 ]
No 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 8
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:12 am 
Offline
Proven Drifter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:46 pm
Posts: 4893
Location: Independence
Ok, been messing with making a network storage box, that is ftp capable. (Transfer files from the internet to the storage computer.

Still working on the details, but would anyone be interested in having this open to kcdrift to dump event images maybe videos to?
Upload the pictures to a blog, or imgur account, etc.
Maybe make a kcdrift channel on youtube/vimeo.

I know lots of people take pictures and stuff, even delicious gopro video. but never upload them.

_________________
Image
Bruiser: Black & Blue Build Waiting on Boost.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:34 pm 
Offline
Proven Drifter
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 10:38 pm
Posts: 321
Location: KCK- The DOTTE
just be careful, our company has stopped using FTP site for most customers due to the ease of viruses. I would say that it needs to be password protected and the password not on site...

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:18 pm 
Offline
Proven Drifter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:46 pm
Posts: 4893
Location: Independence
Yeah, it would locked down. Possibly even sftp.
User permissions for write only in one folder/drive seperate from os.

Part of my schooling was network security. 8)

_________________
Image
Bruiser: Black & Blue Build Waiting on Boost.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:16 pm 
Offline
King of Pics and Vids
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 1:00 am
Posts: 3454
Location: Venice, CA
so is this happening?

_________________
Fuck that SCCA tight polo guy stuff.
My shits gotta be DUMMMPED.

STREET OR DIE!
Image
http://blackmarket666.tumblr.com
http://www.suitteamdriftsquad.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:27 pm 
Offline
Proven Drifter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:46 pm
Posts: 4893
Location: Independence
It could happen.

I had a nas box set up, and it fried, motherboard was bad.
But I have a few more chips, motherboards sand ram laying around, I just need to get one put together again.

I think having more accessible event media for the blog/facebook/twitter/etc. would be very nice.

_________________
Image
Bruiser: Black & Blue Build Waiting on Boost.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:54 pm 
Offline
Proven Drifter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 1:26 pm
Posts: 278
Alternatively, I work for a hosting company, I could see if we could set up a server for cheap. Why not use this site's server? Why not use one of our servers for ftp AND the site (and counterstrike)?

_________________
"It's like sitting in a box" -Takumi Fujiwara
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:11 pm 
Offline
Event Coordinator

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:34 pm
Posts: 1326
Location: Olathe, KS
Squeegee wrote:
Alternatively, I work for a hosting company, I could see if we could set up a server for cheap. Why not use this site's server? Why not use one of our servers for ftp AND the site (and counterstrike)?


What host do you work for? I've been looking to switch for a while. We're at Bluehost now and it's pretty slow. Just opening the admin panel on the blog and forum at the same time brings the site to a crawl. :/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:18 pm 
Offline
Proven Drifter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 1:26 pm
Posts: 278
It's WANSecurity(.com)
you'd be able to ssh in and touch all the fiddly bits if you wanted to. e.g. sudo apt-get install chocolatedoom
I have work tomorrow, so if you give me some specs, I can talk it over with the boss man.

_________________
"It's like sitting in a box" -Takumi Fujiwara
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:03 am 
Offline
Proven Drifter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 7:27 pm
Posts: 210
Location: Olathe, KS
I actually have a 6TB, raid 5, File Server and plenty of internet connection that could be used for this. I also run an FTP Server on it already so I can access my files everywhere I go. I think I have about 2.5tb of space left and would be willing to be the host for this if you guys would like.

If you want me to do this I'll figure out how much space I'm currently willing to share and work on setting up folders, permissions, security and bandwidth throttling for this. Just let me know.

_________________
Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group